You must act quickly, however, because you have just 20 days from the date of the notice to request a Driver License Suspension Hearing.
If you do not timely respond, the TX DPS shall suspend your license for the period stated on the letter.
Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) is a misdemeanor that can lead to costly fines, longer suspension periods, and even jail time. The police will likely have your car towed, and you could be responsible for the towing and storage fees for your vehicle. You may also be required to pay heavy fines, a license reinstatement fee, expensive SR-22 insurance rates, and an annual surcharge for several years.
There are a variety of reasons why your Texas driver's license might be suspended:
- Driving Under the Influence. Your license will be suspended if you are found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The length of the suspension (between 90 days and 2 years) depends on the severity of the violation and whether it is a first or repeat offense.
- Drug Offenses. Your license will be suspended for 180 days if you are convicted for a drug offense (which does not necessarily have to have been committed while operating a motor vehicle).
- Excessive Moving Violations. Your license will be suspended if you receive 4 or more traffic tickets in a 12 month period or 7 or more traffic tickets in a 24 month period.
- Driving with a Suspended License or No License. Driving with a suspended license will lead to an increase in the length of the suspension, equal to the original suspension period.
- Driving without Insurance. Your license will be suspended for a second or subsequent ticket for driving without insurance. All motor vehicles driven in Texas must be properly insured.
Protect your driving privilege. Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP, and let us help you probate your suspension. Our office handles Driver License Suspension Hearings in Dallas County, Collin County, Denton County, and Tarrant County.
Get Started >>